Ask These Questions to Know God’s Will in the New Year

medium_297268200

People often think of God’s will as something they must do in order to please Him.  His will is seen as a pathway to greater favor from God.  To miss His will, many assume, will bring derailment to their life.  As a result, the thought of knowing and doing the will of God becomes quite an ominous task.

Into the overwhelming, steps grace.

On the cross Jesus cried out, “It is finished!”  There in that moment, He brought conclusion, fulfillment, and completion of all that was needed to bring men back to God.  He paid the debt that our sins brought and he made it possible for man to be forgiven and made righteous.  God was pleased!  There would no longer be a need for God to hold man’s sins against him.  He was fully pleased!

Man no longer needs to appease God.

By taking in the reality of Christ’s death for us, we can experience, “It is finished!”  We don’t have to live in search of doing things in order to bring greater favor, pleasure, and blessing.  Through Christ we have been blessed with every spiritual blessing from heaven.  We are made clean, forgiven, holy, righteous, without fault, and without blame.  We no longer do things to gain status.

This radically changes how we see God’s will.

I present myself in deep humility and gratefulness for being made holy and pleasing.  I present myself ready to follow in what He has done for me.  I want to avoid anything that would distract, deter, or cause me to not live as who I am.

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.  And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.  Romans 12:1-2

I now live continually renewing my mind to who I am!  I am forgiven, holy, free, loved, accepted, righteous, one with God!  God’s plan for my life will always be consistent with who He has made me. As I consider the path before me and the choices I regularly face, I ask several questions:

Will this choice or activity…

  • Reinforce and encourage me in who I am now – forgiven, clean, righteous?
  • Bring greater peace, freedom, and joy or will it cause greater guilt, shame, or fear?
  • Allow me to demonstrate to others the grace I have received?
  • Create in me greater joy, passion, and love for God and others?

I can ask these without fear that God will turn His back on me.  I can know that He will not leave me or forsake me.  I can know that my decision will not cause Him to love me less. As I renew my mind in who I am and choose what reinforces who I am, I will be able to “prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God”!

 

Photo credit

Leave a Reply

